Posted by: 2girls2europe | June 20, 2011

Oh My Snap: We Leave For Europe Today

Right now, 9:36 p.m. EST, we are about to board our flight to London. The day has finally arrived. We’re geeking out. Read how we are handling this craz-zay day.

Look at those rims.

How Jessie is Coping…

Dearest Readers,

So here I am in the Boston airport. 90% of me is crazy excited 30% of me is utterly, unequivocally terrified. I recognize that this adds up to 120%, but that is how I feel like I’m living right now: at 120%. I am going to try to describe this sensation with words as opposed to saying the snotty cliche that what I’m experiencing right now is really indescribable. When you hear someone say that, don’t you just want to give them a swift kick, because everything is describable, they are just being lazy.

Anyways, I am on the precipice of what may be one of the greatest journeys of my life, and that is a weird place to be. You are leaving all that is comfortable and recognizable and skydiving into the unknown before you’ve really been trained to use the parachute. You just have to trust yourself. And your buddy. (Gina is the best buddy, luckily.)

Since this seems to be a stream of conciousness post, let me just describe my day and hopefully this will put it into some perspective: I woke up this morning at 5:30 a.m. (holy expletive the sun isn’t even up that early!), because I had to drop my boyfriend off at the bus station. Then I am shockingly wired (ha ha pun … shock wired, get it?), I have a to-do list a mile long, and I am running around like a crazy person while simultaneously trying to appreciate my last meager hours with my family. It’s a race against time, and time has just been around longer so it normally wins.

I just don’t think it’s really hit me. That I’m going. Today. I’m on my way. We’ve been planning this freaking thing for eons (and sometimes I just wanted to be like…forget it, we will survive and sleep on park benches), but now it’s actually here. I feel like the day is just one long drum roll. When we arrive there clearly will have to be a drum roll and a parade and balloons and streamers and banners that say: “Long live Gina and Jessie! Hurray”

Beyond this elation for our impending greeting, I am scared. I am not ashamed of saying that, it’s an unknown, so of course it will be scary. But it’s the best kind of scared, when you know it means you’re doing something great. This is truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience. I am living the classic college pipe dream. I am living my dream. As my idol Auntie Mame once said, “Life is a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death! Live!” Well Mamie, I will. I’m jumping off into the unknown holding hands with Gina (what a lanky, flaily leap that would be). Bring it Europe. We can take you.

And Gina The Weena?

Oh shit, oh snap. Oh my goodness.

It’s about to get real. This trip that Jessie and I have been so excitedly planning for months will begin as soon as they call our zone. Which will probably never happen, seeing as our seats lie in the depths of coach, undoubtedly amidst a large number of writhing toddlers, sweaty sumo wrestlers, and someone who decided that skipping a shower would be appropriate today.

But needless to say, we are both off-our-rockers excited. After we split from our loving, tearful, waving fams, we both breathed a little sigh of relief and realization: this is happening.

Luckily, we already know that we rock at making friends. Couples of adorable old ladies seem to flock to us. Whether we’re leading two British biddies to the nearest spot for grub, or chit chatting with some American ladies in the loo, we’ve got this “meeting people” thing in the bag.

Although, not everyone falls mercy to our wit and charm; we have made some enemies too. Before our first flight, we sat across from a couple of grumpy middle-agers. They conjectured to one another about our age in whispers—eventually deciding that we just must be college students. Apparently our incessant chatter was a little too raucous for their decrepit ears. To their dismay they had to sit in front of us for a grand hour and a half of squeals and giggles.

I guess we will just have to get used to a dirty look or two. 2 cool 2 hate on.

Responses

  1. Just wanted you to know I found the blog and am going to
    enjoy it 🙂
    I sent it to Uncle Mark so they could have fun too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

