Posted by: 2girls2europe | June 23, 2011

Changing of the Guards = Lame … and other news

Dearest Readers,
I know yesterday was brief and photo oriented, but tomorrow we have to wake up at 4:45 a.m. for our flight for Dublin. 4:45 a.m.?! I’m sorry b’scuse me what? (I made up the word b’scuse me for your info). I don’t think the sun is up or birds or happiness. Gina and I will be walking zombies tomorrow. But we are going to Dublin, holy McCastle!
Here are yesterday’s highlights that we will report soon: First, I made a London Guard fall in love with me (if you look in the last picture in our last post he is actually gazing at me…seriously scroll down and check.) My grandmother is a Methodist Pastor who worked in London for a while, so she made friends with Sir Leslie Griffiths of the House of Lords. Let’s just say he led us on a private tour through the House of Parliament where we met people such as Margaret Thatcher’s main Minister and Tony Blair’s Whip. We also sat in on debates in the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Our jaws permanently dropped. I have the best Grandmother. Then we went to see improv comedy at the Comedy Store, which was hilarious. But they did mostly short form (aka like Whose Line is it Anyway), unlike OU Improv, which mostly focuses on longer form.
Today was … a crock. It was just one of thoase days. First, the changing of the guard may be just the dumbest thing I have ever seen. Now, I understand it’s very regal and stately and classic, but it’s also a war zone where people trample children to film this event on their iPhones. Seriously. I have never seen meaner people. I thought Gina was going to punch someone too because they kept blocking the view. It’s also just kind of … lame. I mean they stomp around for a bit, but then they just stand around for like 30 minutes! They also play music, but they don’t have any of it memorized! (I know this because I was in marching band for four years and they had stands on their instruments.)
The most tragic event of today was when we went to see Platform 9 and 3/4. We wanted to see it so bad. It’s from Harry Potter and it’s at King Cross Station. Well, even though we paid money to travel there, it turns out it was under construction. So they moved the site outdoors. Where they put up a fake brick wall. NOT THE SAME. We both nearly cried.
On that sad note, I leave you all. We are now staying in a suburb of London that is just beautiful, and tomorrow, we head to Dublin. So really not too tough of a life, eh? We cannot wait to go to Dublin! And we can’t wait to tell you all about it.

—–
Jessie

Leave a Reply

Categories

