Posted by: 2girls2europe | June 26, 2011

Anything but Rainbows and Sunshine

I think the title of this post pretty much explains it.

To put it bluntly, day 1 of Dublin = one mess after another.

How it went:

Due to our immensely skilled ability to plan, we had to slither out of bed at 4:45 a.m. on Thursday morning to make our flight from London to Dublin. I didn’t even know that time existed. With bleary eyes and expressions deadened by less than 4 hours of sleep, we managed to drag ourselves out of the house. Honestly, I’m kind of shocked that zombie enthusiasts didn’t try to chop our heads off, for how great we looked. I would have let them.

So after nine hours of travel. Yes, you heard me correctly. NINE, readers–we turn up in Dublin. Oh happy day.

We make it to our hostel successfully, check in and take a moment to relax.

Then the crap hit.

First of all, none of the outlets in our room worked properly. Either no electricity ran to the converter (one of my fine Wal-Mart purchases) or I had to jimmy it so much that I could feel the charge in my fingers as I adjusted it. A great sign of things to come.

Eventually I gave up and just came out in the common room to get some Wi-Fi and relax a bit. You know that expression, “We plan, God laughs”?

I typed in the password for the free internet access. Didn’t work. I tried again. No. One more time. Still no, Gina, you twerp.

Instant panic. The internet didn’t work? My lifeline? No way could it fail me now. I watched in envy as Jessie tapped away on her iPad without issue. Before long she recognized the look of a near panic attack wash over my haggard face. Bless her heart, she offered her iPad to me. But even her act of kindness could not squelch my paralyzing fear of the next several days without my own internet access. Call me a Generation Y-er.

After a little bit of  quiet self-pity, Jessie suggested that we try to salvage the day, and venture to the Guinness Storehouse. Okay, sure.

We get ready and head out. Pouring down rain. And you all know my thoughts on the rain. With nary a piece of rain gear on my person, we left. What a treat that experience was. Navigating a brand-new city–cold, tired, pissed, hungry. Oh I had to have been a gem. I think I almost cried on the bus (once we figured out what bus to get on).

Arriving at the storehouse, we had to rush to get our “complimentary” beer since it was closing soon. This included climbing up 28 flights of stairs. At this point of sheer incredulousness, my mouth has no filter. I littered the steps with copious expletives,  completely forgetting the other people around me. Oops.

Fake happiness.

The tour, while interesting,  I had trouble enjoying. Even the beer didn’t help. Sorry, barley and hops can only be interesting for so long.

A lion roar, I think.

After we returned to the hostel, I had a “what the heck am I doing” moment. Who did I think I was, a world traveler? Did I really think I could do this? My mind raced with doubts.

But after a self-imposed workout routine, a shower and a night’s sleep I felt ready to tackle another day…with all my usual snark and sarcasm. Albeit tempered by a smile or two.

Gina

Responses

  1. so I guess traveling the world can be tiring, huh?
    Who would have guessed? 😉
    never fear:food, sleep, and some beautiful sights
    will set you both back on track!
    Love, MOM


Leave a Reply

Categories

