Posted by: 2girls2europe | July 4, 2011

Leipzig: Laundry, Karaoke and 3rd of July Parties

Dearest Readers,

So we love Leipzig. Even thought it is around 60 degrees and cold raining on us in the middle of July, we are having a grand old time (seriously).

Yesterday when we arrived, our gracious and adorable host Caroline and her boyfriend Paul cooked us a delicious lunch and dinner at their home. Free food and friendship! Double win!

Caroline is an American Studies major, and she took us to the 4th of July party that the department was having. (It was on the 3rd of July due to final exams.) We were real live Americans at this event, and it was a hoot!

They made traditional American food such as burgers and hotdogs and cookies (fat people food?). And absolutely everything was covered in American flags. We also listened to American music … which is apparantly comprised of a lot of Nickelback. Oh gee … why do they have to represent our country??

There was also a “How Well do you know America Quiz.” I’m not going to lie here folks, Gina and I were quaking in our proverbial boots … what if we failed the quiz? Aack, they probably wouldn’t let us back in to the US of A!

Luckily, we knew all of the basic questions, but we did miss a few questions that supposedly every American should know, such as: Which President was the first to be born in a hospital? Which President declared he wouldn’t eat broccoli anymore?

I am happy with missing those two (though I know many people we know from home could have). I was embarrassed, however, because neither Gina nor I could remember the number of Presidents America has had thus far. The Germans had to tell us. It’s 44, in case you are ever on Jeopardy or are given a surprise pop quiz on your country.

Then, they let us do our laundry. I washed absolutely everything, and it just smells so wonderful. I have never been so happy to see a washing machine in my whole life.

Then finally, as Gina has mentioned, we did karaoke with Caroline and Paul. It was ridiculously fun. Paul, the IT genius, has this crazy computer programmed so that it hooks up to the tv right in their bedroom wall. So we could all do karaoke right in their bedroom.
Gina and I sang such gems as Pink’s “Just Like a Pill,” Aerosmith’s “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing,” and Three Doors Down’s “Kryptonite.” I guess I can’t really call it singing. It was more like maniacal belting. Screaming, really.

Caroline has a great voice, and Paul might, but he was so gosh darn quiet the world may never know. Then we all finished off the evening by singing Avril Lavigne’s “Complicated” and Aretha Franklin’s “Respect.” Together. All 4 of us. Isn’t Leipzig great?

I should also mention that we then proceeded to play Wii bowling, and I pwned. I had seven strikes. Seven. Just take that in. If you have met me then you now that I could never do that in real life and that my coordination is like a 3/10, so I have to soak in these small glories.
Today, we wandered around Leipzig through various book shops (they all smell the same … like home), to Saint Nicholas’s (spelling??) church, to this German Spy Museum (The Round Corner Museum), and then home. Woof. We are worn out.

But tonight we hope for more karaoke. Because what better way to celebrate the independence of America than by ruining some of the USA’s best known pop songs with our two terrible voices? It’s better than fireworks to me!

Tomorrow we head to Dresden. I can’t wait!
With love from Leipzig!

—-
Jessie

Responses

  1. Fantastic site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your sweat!


Leave a Reply

Categories

