Posted by: 2girls2europe | July 17, 2011

When I Grow up I’ll Understand

Sometimes I feel like a school child in an art museum.

I show up to all these amazing places—super jazzed and ready to go, like I’m on an un-chaperoned field trip. I am bouncing off the walls. Not because of what I’m about to see, but because I know it will be special. I walk by important things, take photos and maybe even learn a thing or two. I pose in those little face-in-hole photo ops and swing by the gift shop. And then I move on.

Increasingly, I realize that these events will have more gravity once I grow up a little. Maybe once I finally master those multiplication tables and move onto the 4th grade.

I say all of this because we just left Geneva—a city of great international importance. I’ve now stood amidst the fountains outside the U.N. and even toured the World Health Organization. Yet, I know that the true significance of these experiences won’t set in until later. As of now, Geneva is just one stop on this grand tour, but it won’t always be.

Travel teaches. It’s one of the reasons I love it so much. It expands your conception of the world and makes you care about far away places and people. Now, Geneva is not just some faraway city, but the place where I got terribly overpriced Thai food, took a yellow boat across a lake, and meandered past watches so expensive they didn’t even have price tags. Now, Geneva is a little part of me. Maybe it was only one day, and maybe I’ll never go back, but I’ll remember going.

And just like those silly little field trips in elementary school, it will remain special, no matter how many years pass.

Gina

Leave a Reply

Categories

