Posted by: 2girls2europe | July 21, 2011

You’ve Got a Friend In Me

Sooner or later, all close friendships come across what I like to call “The Poop Test.” In said test, you learn how much you can share with the friend. Such as, when you really gotta… you know…go.

Jessie and I have stampeded across this socially accepted barrier with ferocity. We now have, what I’d like to call, an uncomfortably close bond.

She knows what time of day I like to shower, how I take my cappuccino, what to do when I’m pissed off and yes, she knows when I go to the bathroom.

So she completely understood when I peered at her this morning, bleary eyed over some yogurt and Muesli, and told her that I felt a bit burnt out.

We soon decided that instead of strapping on our cameras and money belts and venturing out into Zurich for a day of sight seeing, we  would laze around and enjoy a day of relaxation. Gasp!

To be honest, I felt a little like an old married couple in an empty nest. We baked brownies, watched episodes Parks and Recreation, read our respective novels and took naps together. Yes, we are officially 70-year-olds.

Jessie folds the official box for baking brownies... the Swiss are so funky.

But you know, as lame as it sounds, this day really rejuvenated me. Now, I feel ready to tackle the last week (eek!) of this trip with zeal. I’ve gotten a chance to just relax and spend some time with my travel partner, free of the often stressful demands of actually traveling.

Tomorrow we plan to venture out into Basel and return to our activity-heavy ways, but at least we had a day to spend just as friends, and take some time to realize (after all these weeks together) why this trip has been so great/frustrating/exciting/taxing/amazing/cool/invigorating–because we’re both a couple of kooky kids, who decided to take on Europe together. (Jessie addition: I love Gina Edwards and all of her quirks.)

And to top it off, we’ve totally aced “The Poop Test.”

Gina

Leave a Reply

Categories

